TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS IN NC
How many points will it add to my record?
MECKLENBURG & SURROUNDING AREAS
There is a wide variety of cases that fall into the category of traffic violations in North Carolina. Cases range from infractions to much more serious offenses. Although an infraction may not sound like a big deal, many people misunderstand the potential consequences of such a conviction. Traffic violations cannot be expunged from your criminal record or your driving record. This also applies to convictions for DWI/DUI. Traffic violations can also cost you thousands of dollars long term by increasing your insurance. It is extremely important to know that if you pay off a traffic ticket online, you are pleading “guilty”/responsible to what you were charged with. In almost every traffic violation situation, there are tactics an experienced North Carolina criminal defense traffic attorney can use to negotiate your ticket to a lesser offense. You may also be eligible for what is called a Prayer for Judgment Continued (“PJC”), which can lessen the consequences.
EXPERIENCED CRIMINAL ATTORNEYS
Who Will Negotiate With The District Attorney To Clear, or Reduce Charges Or, If Need Be, Take Your Case To Trial..
driving offences and charges
DUI / DWI Driving while impaired cases are somewhat their own animal. They technically can be considered a “traffic” offense, but the sentencing can be extremely harsh when compared with many other traffic/ticket laws. It is absolutely vital if you are charged with a DWI to speak to an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible after you are charged.
Aggressive Driving Aggressive driving is considered even more serious than reckless driving and is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 120 days in jail. In order to prove this offense, the State has to be able to prove that you committed at least two of certain listed offenses, which include illegal passing, following too closely, running a red light or stop sign, and failure to yield.
Hit and run driver You could face a misdemeanor or felony conviction if you fail to stop at the scene of an accident or provide assistance. Penalties include a jail or prison sentence, fines—potentially large for a felony conviction—and 4 to 12 points on your driving record.
Suspended / revoked licenseYour driver’s license could be suspended for 1 year or more or even revoked permanently for having too many traffic offenses points on your driver’s record or having too many of the same offences. You can be convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor with a possible jail sentence of up to 120 days if you drive with a license that has been suspended or revoked due to a prior DWI. If your license was suspended or revoked for a non-DWI-related reason, you can be convicted of a Class 3 misdemeanor.
Reckless Driving If charged with reckless driving, you could face a conviction which would be a Class 2 misdemeanor. This would mean that you would have a permanent criminal record. In North Carolina penalties could include 60 days in jail, a fine up to $1,000, and four points on your driving record causing your insurance to go up.
Passing A School Bus If you pass a school bus that was stopped on a roadway with it’s “Stop” sign erected, this is an offense that North Carolina prosecutors and judges take extremely seriously due to the potential danger for children. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 120 days in jail and a minimum fine of $500.
REVERSALS & RESTORATIONS
REINSTATING PERMITS & LICENSES
If you are convicted of certain types of nonviolent felony, whether in North Carolina or another state, and it was only one set of felonies and has been at least 20 years since you finished serving every part of your sentence, PRJ Law can petition the district court in the district where you reside to restore your firearms rights pursuant to the law.
regain driving privileges
After a DWI conviction, apply at the NC DMV to have your driver’s license restored once your period of revocation has expired. Requirements, first pay the $140 restoration fee. Your driving privileges do not automatically go back to normal, after the required revocation period. Licenses suspended for a non-DWI reason, the restoration fee is $70.
WE CAN RESOLVE YOUR
North Carolina has an “absolute” speed limit law, which means that you could be guilty of speeding by going even one mile over the posted speed limit. Complete the form below for a prompt response from our dedicated legal team. Again, it is very important to not just go online and pay off any traffic ticket (no matter what the police tell you). You always have the right to consult with experienced counsel and receive an evaluation of your options.